The Sweetest Thing

A few weeks ago I had the privilege of serving for Gospel for Asia at Lifest in Oshkosh.  Not having been to Lifest before, I didn’t know what to expect.  I knew we’d give away lots of free GFA books at our table, but I didn’t know we’d have so many wonderful conversations with people who love Jesus.  I knew we’d hear cool music, but I didn’t know how meaningful the musicians’ messages would be during their concerts.  I knew there’d be entertainment, but I didn’t know that each venue would be intentionally sharing the gospel.  I didn’t know how thirsty my soul was till it was drenched in grace, and oh how sweetly He showered me in it.

Crowded venues really aren’t my thing, but when an opportunity comes along to share what the Lord is doing through GFA, I go.  There were thousands of people at Lifest, and I was glad my son, Nick, was there with me.  Since another GFA volunteer was working with us, we were able to enjoy some of what the weekend had to offer in between passing out free books.  I heard Skillet for the first time and never knew something in me would actually like Christian hard rock, but I did.   I cried when Casting Crowns sang my favorite song, “Who Am I”.  I belted out and danced to “Jesus Freak” with the Newsboys.  I heard wonderful testimonies of what God is doing in people’s lives and learned that hundreds of people put their faith in Jesus at Lifest.  It was such an encouraging and uplifting time, but I’d have to say the sweetest thing was feeling God’s love through and with my son.

Like I said, crowded venues aren’t my cup of tea.  After 48 hours of talking with hundreds of people and being away from home, I was feeling tired during the second evening.  If you’re like me, being tired when it’s late can be tense, especially for my family.  I snapped at my son when he said it was time for us to leave the Casting Crowns concert, then I gave into my fleshly desire, lost control of my tongue and regretfully said some unkind words.  Thankfully, we resolved things before going to bed, but I still felt lousy about it in the morning.  As I apologized again to my son, I started to cry, and he graciously said, “It’s ok, Mom.  I forgive you because I love you so much.  You don’t need to feel bad.”  My heart melted, my spirit soared and I felt such relief.  I knew I had been forgiven, and it. felt. absolutely. AWESOME!  As I look back at the final concert, I was able to worship the Lord with abandon because I was mercifully given a taste of how good He is to a wretched sinner like me.  And next to me was the apple of my eye singing his heart out to “We Believe”:

“We believe in God the Father

We believe in Jesus Christ

We believe in the Holy Spirit

And He’s given us new life

We believe in the crucifixion

We believe that He conquered death

We believe in the resurrection

And that He’s coming back again.”

It just doesn’t get any sweeter than that.  Thank You, Lord!  Amen!

In Joyful Surrender,

Lindsey

Leave a Reply

