A Reflection on Freedom

As I reflect on the freedoms that I am blessed with, I can’t help but thank God. I think of David’s response when God told David that his own house and kingdom would endure forever. In 2 Samuel 7:18, David says, “Who am I, O Sovereign Lord, and what is my family, that you have brought me this far?” He was baffled. It was such a blessing that it was almost as if he didn’t know how to accept it. His kingdom was going to endure forever? No end? For all eternity someone from his family would be on the throne? I don’t know about you, but I would be pretty blown away! To learn more about the story, read all of 2 Samuel, chapter seven. David then goes on to humble himself and praise God for what has been revealed to him. He pours out a heart full of wonder and gratitude to his awesome God.

Have you ever felt like that? Have you ever considered your blessings and been filled with utter amazement because of God’s perfect care for you? I sure have. Every Fourth of July, I reflect on the freedoms I have been given. I wanted to share some with you today and challenge you to reflect on your own. And then, following the example of David, would you join me in humbling yourself before the Lord and lifting your praise to him? He is so worthy of our praise!

I thank you, God, for the freedom to read your Word and worship you with other believers.

I thank you for the freedom of choice. Among the many choices I have, I am able to choose where I live, where I worship, what foods I eat, how I dress, and how I raise my children.

I thank you, Lord, for the freedom of education. I am free to not only educate my children, but to homeschool them myself. I am free to teach them from the Bible each day, and hide the Word of God in their hearts.

I thank you for the freedom to express my opinion. If you’ve put something on my heart, I am free to share it in a way that pleases you and respects others.

I am forever thankful for the ultimate freedom – the freedom from sin that you gave me when you took my place on the cross and suffered to pay the penalty I owed. I am so thankful that now, I can live a life free from the curse of sin, and instead, be renewed and sanctified by your Holy Spirit.

What freedoms are you thankful for? What would your list look like?

I don’t deserve the amazing freedoms I have been given. But on my knees, I will come before my God and thank him for how he has freed me. Like David, I ask God, “Who am I?” And I hear God answer:

“How great is the love the Father has lavished on us, that we should be called children of God.” ~ I John 3: 1

I am His. God’s child. I am not just some random person. I am not simply a tally on his board, one of the millions created to live and die. I am his very own child. Blessings have not just fallen from the sky for me. They were given to me from my Creator, my Father. How good it feels to know that I am His!

As we celebrate this Independence Day, let’s lift our hearts to Christ for the incredible freedom he has given us, and the new life that we have in Him!

In Joyful Surrender,

Betsey

Leave a Reply

