Spring Cleaning: How Is It Between Us, Lord?

It’s that time of year again- where we look out the window and hope that the weather will soon feel as warm as it looks.  And as I look through my windows I see the sticky fingerprints and messy window panes that remind me that along with spring, comes that need to do a little spring cleaning.

When you assess your spring cleaning list, have you taken time to think about the state of your heart? And your time with the Lord?

Reminds me of the chorus of a favorite song by Sara Groves.  As she’s thinking about her life and wondering what’s putting her in a “funk” she turns her focus to the Lord and is asking Him,
“Lord, first of all, how is it between you and me?
How is it between us?
How is it between us?
When did I talk to you last,
and what has happened since?
How is it between us? How is it between us?
When did I talk to you last, and what has happened?” 

How many of you can relate with that feeling – of wondering how is it between you and the Lord? And trying to recall when you’ve actually sat down and focused on time with Him?

I have been reminded recently that time with the Lord is less like spring cleaning, and more like those daily tasks that are essential to maintaining your household. That’s why the Bible says things like, “Because of the Lord’s great love we are not consumed, for his compassions never fail. They are new every morning; great is your faithfulness” (Lamentations 3:22-23).

When we think of time with God as some big overwhelming spring cleaning task, like cleaning our windows, we’re less likely to do it. If you’re anything like me, that’s too intimidating. Instead, in recent weeks, I’ve been reminded to give God the little time that I have each day. It’s like wiping off the counter. I can do that. Ask me to wash the windows? Not today, but cleaning off the counters I will do today, and later today, and tonight, and tomorrow, and the next day, and the next.

I encourage you to look at time with the Lord in the same way. To be faithful to Him and ask for his compassion which is new every morning! If you’re interested in some tips or want to know what this looks like for me, stay tuned for my next post. Until then, why don’t you sit down today and consider the lyrics of the Sara Groves song, and ask The Lord, “How is it between us? When did I talk to you last, and what has happened?”

In Joyful Surrender,

Katie

Leave a Reply

