Consider It Pure Joy

Recently I’ve been thinking quite a bit about what God has to say about trials.  Today it is fresh on my mind again as I think about a dear friend who delivered her first baby this morning, knowing he was already in the arms of Jesus.  As my heart is breaking for her, I wonder again why it is we must walk through trials in this life.  Though I’m sure God has many reasons for allowing difficulties in our lives, one verse in particular has been stuck in my mind: “Consider it pure joy, my brothers and sisters, whenever you face trials of many kinds, because you know that the testing of your faith produces perseverance,” (James 1:2-3).  

Here in God’s Word is a promise that any time we face trials, difficulties, and challenges in our lives, He can use it to produce perseverance in us.  In other words, God uses trials to make us more like Jesus.  Though the trials are still hard, I find there is great comfort in knowing that the difficult things I must walk through (or that my loved ones must walk through) are making us more like Jesus.  

Trials are not without purpose.  We have a God who loves us dearly and He has a purpose in all that He allows in our lives.

In Joyful Surrender,

Erica

Leave a Reply

