Cast All Your Anxieties

Cast all your anxieties on him, for he cares for you. 1 Peter 5:7 (RSV)

“I’ve been doing a lot of worrying these days-about my career, a possible move to Canada, finances…Each morning I pray for a calm spirit and a trust in God that doesn’t waver. I list my blessings like the old hymn tells us:

Count your blessings,

Name them one by one,

Count your blessings

See what God has done…

But the next thing you know, I’m fretting. I start to list my blessings one more time, but again worry rises. Why can’t I pray and trust God once and for all? I wonder. Why do I have to keeping working at it??

This morning when I went to wash my hair, for some reason I noticed the directions on the shampoo bottle: ‘Wet hair. Lather well. Rinse. Repeat if necessary.’

‘Repeat if necessary.’ There’s my answer, I thought. Shampooing isn’t a once-in-a-lifetime thing.

And neither is prayer.

As I dried my hair, I thanked God for His message from a shampooing bottle. And I began to pray again: Here are my worries, Father…And here are my blessings I thank you for…”

Dear God, it’s comforting to know that prayer is ‘repeat if necessary,’ and that I can come to You daily, hourly, whenever I need to.”

Amen Brenda!

In Joyful Surrender,

Diane

(Quotation from Brenda Wilbe, writer for Daily Guidepost, April 18, 1996)

Leave a Reply

