Faithfulness

My two year old wire-haired dachshund, Smudgie, loves to go for walks. Often times he is so excited that he grabs part of the leash hanging from his collar in his mouth and proudly prances as he leads me down the street!

Because we walk most days,weather permitting, I try to change up our routes so he doesn’t get bored. I think he should nominate me for “Mom of the Year Award”!!! The most favorite route for both of us is the Glacial Drumlin Trail. Our pace is more leisurely so Smudgie can explore and sniff the abundance of smells along the way. I love the trail because it’s one of my favorite places to walk and talk with God and to enjoy, as well as,marvel His creation. Whether it’s the newness of the trees and wildflowers as their buds begin to leaf out in the spring, or listening to a joyful chorus of birds as they awake on a early summer in the morning. In winter I enjoy the sounds of silence and beauty of powdery snow gently falling from the sky. Fall brings the magnificence of the all the colors of leaves bursting forth! Whatever of the season in nature or in my life, I find myself singing praise to God for His Great Faithfulness!

Autumn Landscape

Autumn Landscape (Photo credit: blmiers2)

Great is Thy faithfulness, O God my Father,
There is no shadow of turning with Thee.
Though changest not, Thy compassions they fail not;
As Thou hast been Thou forever wilt be.
Summer and winter, and springtime and harvest, 
Sun, moon, and stars in their courses above
Join with all nature in manifold witness
To Thy great faithfulness, mercy, and love.
Pardon for sin and a peace that endureth,
Thine own dear presence to cheer and to guide.
Strength for today and bright hope for tomorrow,
Blessings all mine and ten thousand beside!
Great is Thy faithfulness!  Great is Thy faithfulness!
Morning by morning new mercies I see;
All I have needed Thy hand hath provided–
Great is Thy faithfulness, Lord unto me!
In Joyful Surrender,
Diane
(“Great is Thy Faithfulness” lyrics by Thomas O. Chisholm)
One thought on “Faithfulness

  1. I love your dog’s name; I have a white cat named Smudgie. He does get smudged up from time to time. Isn’t our Great God and Savior Jesus Christ glorious in victory and the wonderful salvation that He has for His children? God bless you:)

Leave a Reply

