Discipleship

Do you have a brand new Christian who comes to you with a lot of basic questions about Christianity? What an exciting position to be in! Although it truly was very exciting when my co-worker came to me, I soon realized I needed a tool to help our conversations be more focused and productive. So, of course, I used my girlfriend network for some help and my friend Debbie recommended the New Life Discipleship series (www.newlifediscipleship.com).

Volume 1 is intended for new believers, is 13 sessions long and is available in different languages. My coworker and I met every other week and did one session at time. It was amazing to see the growth in her as the weeks went by.

The following excerpt is taken from Lesson 4, from the above series. It is a beautiful, tangible, step-by-step prayer/guide to help us learn how to walk daily in joyful surrender to our Lord Jesus Christ:

“’Therefore, I urge you, brothers and sisters, in view of God’s mercy, to offer your bodies as a living sacrifice, holy and pleasing to God—this is your true and proper worship.’ Romans 12:1

Romans 12:1 exhorts us to surrender our bodies to Christ. The following prayer may serve as a model for this daily surrender:

Lord, I surrender myself to you.

Take my mind and what I think.

Take my eyes and what I see.

Take my ears and what I hear.

Take my lips and what I speak.

Take my heart, what I feel and my attitudes.

Take my hands and what I do.

Take my body, it is your temple.

Fill me with your Holy Spirit.

Take my feet, where I go.

I want to obey you.

I want to do your will.”

(From New Life in Christ, Volume 1, Lesson 4)

In Joyful Surrender,

Lisa

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

