Holy Habits

I have had the opportunity this past to year to be part of a women’s Bible study. We met weekly and enjoyed sweet fellowship, singing, prayer time, and of course, treats! The desire of each of our hearts is to grow in our personal relationship with the Lord. This year we chose to read and study Holy Habits-A Women’s Guide to Intentional Living by Mimi Wilson and Shelly Cook Volkhardt. What a powerful book these ladies have written. In learning about and practicing practical holy habits, it can aid us in keeping the focus on God in our daily lives.

One of many quotes from the book, “Our part is to make it a habit to know Him. To make Him our daily focus. His part is to make us holy,” struck a chord with me. My desire is to know Him more, to love Him more, and to serve Him more. One of the habits I have been trying to intentionally practice in order to deepen my relationship with the Lord is to live daily in a responsive mode in His Presence. I am doing that by taking a few moments of each morning when I first awake to greet Him and thank Him for the day that He has lovingly, with careful attention to each detail, prepared for me. I then pray that He would open my eyes that I may see, my ears to hear, and for a heart and mind that are sensitive, receptive, and obedient to the Holy Spirit’s leading throughout the day.

Knowing and recognizing His Presence always make the day He has given me go much better!

 Proverbs 3:6 “Trust in the Lord with all your heart and lean not on your own understanding: in all your ways acknowledge Him, and He will make your path straight.”

In Joyful Surrender, 

Diane

Leave a Reply

